CCBC Athletics Hall of Fame to honor 26 in its 2015 class

Nov 06, 2015

Banquet will be held 7 p.m., Dec. 4, Martin’s East

The Community College of Baltimore County (CCBC) Athletics Hall of Fame will induct 26 honorees at a special banquet to be held 7 p.m., Friday, Dec. 4, 2015 at Martin’s East, 9000 Pulaski Highway, Baltimore. Tickets for this year’s banquet are $50 per person. For tickets or information, contact Amy Matschulat at 443-840-1859 or Tickets are limited.

The Community College of Baltimore County Athletics Hall of Fame was established in 2011 to recognize and honor current student athletes, alumni, former and current coaches, athletic administrators/staff for outstanding contributions to CCBC Athletics on the three main campuses. With the induction of this fifth group of elite athletes, the CCBC Athletics Hall of Fame now has 127 members.

The 2015 CCBC Athletics Hall of Fame honorees:
Many honorees participated in multiple sports; we list them by the first sport that they listed. (Campus)

Adam Beaver of Crofton, Md. (Catonsville campus)
Mickey Jaslow of Mountville, Pa. (Essex campus)
Jerry Vignola of Bel Air, Md. — also Basketball, Soccer, and Track and Field (Essex campus)

Sylvester Duke Banks of Baltimore, Md. (Dundalk campus)
Lynette Denise Copper (posthumously) of Easton, Md. (Dundalk campus)
Austin L. Foreman Jr. of Sykesville, Md. – also Track and Field and Soccer (Catonsville campus)
DJ Ward of Odenton, Md. (Catonsville campus)

Cross Country
Monica Beall Grigora of Havre de Grace, Md. – also Track and Field (Essex campus)
Kathy Smith Heckman of Woodbine, Md. (Catonsville campus)

Joseph Rahnis of Baltimore, Md. (Essex campus)

Fred Haas of Gulf Breeze, Fla. (Essex campus)
Dennis Kelehan of Baltimore, Md. (Catonsville campus)
Danielle Nickles of Nottingham, Md. –also Soccer (Catonsville campus)

Meritorious Service
Brian R. Farrell of Catonsville, Md., director of CCBC Athletics (all CCBC campuses)
Joseph “Pete” Hamilton Sr. (posthumously) of Baltimore, Md. (Essex campus)
Phil Mooney of Frederica, Del. (Catonsville campus)
Dr. John L. Murray of Hampstead, Md. (Catonsville campus)

Olukorede Afolabi Aiyegbusi of Ilford, Essex England (Essex campus)
Dennis Lynn of Fallston, Md. – also Basketball, and Baseball (Essex campus)
Douglas Pryor of Sparrows Point, Md. – also Baseball, and Bowling (Dundalk campus)
Teresa Amhrein Stitz of Perry Hall, Md. – also Basketball, and Softball (Dundalk campus)

Frank R. Cutko of Baltimore, Md. –also Baseball (Essex campus)
Lydia L. Brown Garten of Baltimore, Md. – also Volleyball (Essex campus)

Swimming and Diving
Kim Russell Morris of Millersville, Md. –also Lacrosse, and Field Hockey (Catonsville campus)

Track and Field
Dennis D. Duffy of Fresno, Calif. –also Cross Country, and Basketball (Catonsville campus)

Chrissy Mills Beaver of Crofton, Md. (Catonsville campus)

CCBC Hall of Fame Selection Committee:
The herculean task of narrowing down the field for the CCBC Athletics Hall of Fame was done by a nine-member committee, under the leadership of Chairman George Henderson, representing alumni, former coaches and athletic administrators and at large members.

Randy Gregory — Basketball - CCBC Catonsville
Kent Bowles — Baseball - CCBC Dundalk
Cleveland Rudisill — Basketball - CCBC Essex

Former coaches / athletics administrators
Jack Manley — Basketball — CCBC Catonsville (long time and founding Director of Athletics)
Elliott Oppenheim — (long time Baseball coach) - CCBC Dundalk
George Henderson — Baseball — CCBC Essex

At large members
Ann Marie Thornton – CCBC director of Development and Alumni Relations
Barb Miller – CCBC Essex alumna (Volleyball and Basketball) and former CCBC Essex coach (Volleyball and Basketball),
Brian Farrell – Baseball – CCBC director of College Athletics and former CCBC Catonsville student athlete.

For detailed information about the CCBC Athletics Hall of Fame, contact CCBC director of College Athletics Brian Farrell at 443-840-4197 or