Employee Orientation

New Hire Orientation (NHO) is mandatory for new employees starting or moving into a benefit-eligible position. New, full-time (FT) employees are automatically scheduled for the next available orientation date after hire, and notified by mail in their offer letter. New FT employees who are unable to attend orientation (due to extenuating circumstances) must contact Human Resources to schedule an appointment to receive information and instructions for enrolling in benefits. Employees who are unable to attend the technology training should contact the campus Employee Training Center (ETC) to schedule appropriate training.

Current full-time employees who are already benefit-eligible and are transitioning to a new position should not attend New Hire Orientation. All new, benefit-eligible employees (regardless of position) should take the basic Outlook, SharePoint, and Employee Self-Serve technology training. Employees in positions that do not require Banner training will complete technology training earlier. 

New Hire Orientation, Day 1 Parts A&B will be held on the Catonsville Campus. New Hire Orientation, Day 2 Part C will be held on the Dundalk Campus.

  • NHO Day 1 training consists of the following:
    • Part A (CCBC overview); open to both full-time AND part-time employees; only offered once a month (except in August)
    • Part B (Benefits/Union information); open only to full-time employees; offered twice a month.

Part-time new hires should register for Part A on SharePoint, through Professional Development Opportunities/Human Resources.

  • NHO Day 2, Part C training consists of the following:
    • Technology Training runs from 9-11
    • Banner Intro runs from 11-12.
Part-time new hires should register for these on SharePoint, through Professional Development Opportunities/Instructional Technology. You must register for each separately.

If you need assistance with the registration process, please contact Susan M. Dumm, HR Training Assistant, at 443.840.5263; sdumm@ccbcmd.edu


NHO Day 1 -- Part A
Catonsville Campus
Library – Rm 123
8:30 am – 12:00 pm

Full-time/Part-time Employees
NHO Day 1 -- Part B
Catonsville Campus
Library – Rm 123
1:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Full-time Employees Only
NHO Day 2 – Part C
Dundalk Campus
College Comm. Ctr. -- Rm 128
9:00 am – 12:00 pm
Tuesday, August 7, 2018 Tuesday, August 7, 2018 Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 Tuesday, September 4, 2018 Wednesday, September 5, 2018

Tuesday, September 18, 2018 Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018 Tuesday, October 2, 2018 Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Tuesday, October 16, 2018 Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018 Tuesday, November 6, 2018 Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Tuesday, November 20, 2018 Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018 Tuesday, December 4, 2018  Wednesday, December 5, 2018
  Tuesday, December 18, 2018 Wednesday, December 12, 2018

New Hire Orientation will be canceled during any month when there will be less than three participants. Affected new employees will be notified and asked to contact HR to schedule an individual appointment to obtain benefits information and will have the option to attend the next scheduled orientation session.