• Phi Theta Kappa logo

CCBC President Sandra Kurtinitis and CCBC Dean of College Life Caroline Scott are proud Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society award recipients. President Kurtinitis received the 2017 Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction and Dean Scott received the Distinguished College Administrator Award.

President Kurtinitis was one of 19 college presidents and campus CEOs selected to receive the award named for the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest-serving Board of Directors chair, and president emeritus of Highline Community College in Des Moines, Wash. Dr. Gordon was named Phi Theta Kappa’s Most Distinguished College President in 1984.

Dean Scott was one of 24 college administrators – and the only one from a Maryland college – to be honored with the Distinguished College Administrator Award. This award is given to college vice presidents, deans or directors who have demonstrated a strong level of support for Phi Theta Kappa during their tenure.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest Honor Society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses throughout the United States and nationally. Nearly three million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.