CCBC President appointed chair of national board

Jun 20, 2018

CCBC President Sandra Kurtinitis has been named the new chair of the American Association of Community Colleges’ board of directors. President Kurtinitis will lead a 32-member board for the 2018-2019 term and will preside over the 2019 AACC convention.

The American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) is the primary advocacy organization for the nation’s community colleges. The association represents nearly 1,200 two-year, associate degree-granting institutions and more than 12 million students. AACC promotes community colleges through five strategic action areas: recognition and advocacy for community colleges; student access, learning, and success; community college leadership development; economic and workforce development; and global and intercultural education.

“Our association is fortunate to have such a highly respected community college leader guiding the board,” said Walter G. Bumphus, AACC president and CEO. “Her experience and leadership will be key to implementing national strategic initiatives that will help member colleges serve their students.”

Kurtinitis has served as CCBC president since 2005. Throughout her career she has been an active member on a variety of boards both locally and nationally. Her dedicated service to higher education, workforce development and the community has earned her numerous awards and recognition. Before moving to Baltimore, she served as president for Quinsigamond Community College in Worchester, Massachusetts from 1995 until 2005. Her reputation as a respected educator and leader extends throughout her 50 year community college professional career.

“It is a privilege to serve as board chair for an association where I have such a strong connection,” expressed President Kurtinitis. “I look forward to working with the 32-member board to provide strategic direction and help shape the future for community colleges well into the 21 st century.”