CCBC Confers Emeritus Status on Nine Faculty and Administrators

Jun 02, 2015 | by Jacquie Lucy | 443.840.4668 (office) | 443.761.2482 (cell)

Baltimore County, MD – The Community College of Baltimore County honored nine retired/retiring faculty members and administrators by inducting them into the ranks of Emeritus Professor during a ceremony and reception held May 21 at CCBC Catonsville. The Honorable Barbara Kerr Howe, Board of Trustees Chair, joined President Sandra L. Kurtinitis and Vice President for Instruction Mark McColloch in presenting the Emeriti medallions.

“When you have a mission as wonderful as ours, it is fitting that we honor those whose work – over the past decades – has shaped the college we are today, “remarked CCBC President Sandra L. Kurtinitis.

Emeritus status can be granted only to retired college employees or those retiring as of June 30 of the current academic year. Candidates must have a distinguished career, one which has been deemed outstanding when compared to other employees with similar career requirements. His or her efforts have also contributed to helping improve the strength, growth and integrity of the college. This designation requires the approval of the CCBC Board of Trustees. This year’s nine inductees bring to 163 the number of those awarded Emeritus status.

The 2015 Inductees into the ranks of Emeritus professionals are:

Janice Allen of Phoenix, Md.
Professor, English Department
School of Liberal Arts
Retired January 31, 2015; 23 years of service

Robert J. Aupperley of Dundalk, Md.
Assistant Director, College Athletics
College Life, Intercollegiate Athletics
Retired January 2, 2015; 20 years of service

Teresa M. Bianco of Middle River, Md.
Associate Professor, Nursing
School of Health Professions
Retires June 15, 2015; 42 years of service

Sandra Brown of Catonsville, Md.
Coordinator, Interpreter Prep Program
School of Liberal Arts
Retires June 15, 2015; 29 years of service

Bruce Estep of Olney, Md.
Assistant Director, Enrollment Services Center
Enrollment Management
Retired December 31, 2014; 41 years, 10 months and 12 days of service

Carol Diane Eustis of Westminster, Md.
Dean of Instruction, School of Health Professions
Awarded posthumously May 21, 2015; 46 years of service

Charles David Miron of Columbia, Md.
Professor, Behavioral Sciences Department
School of Wellness, Education, Behavioral and Social Sciences
Retired December 31, 2014; 45 years of service

Dennis C. Mitchell of Towson, Md.
Coordinator, Transfer Evaluation Services
Enrollment Management/Registrar’s Office
Retired August 2, 2014; 43 years of service

M. Frances Smither of Pasadena, Md.
Director, Judicial Affairs
Enrollment and Student Services, College Life
Retired June 30, 2012; 23 years of service


About the Community College of Baltimore County (
CCBC offers hundreds of programs and thousands of courses helping people of all ages, backgrounds and interests earn degrees, transfer, launch or advance careers, and prepare for in-demand jobs. 

Providing accessible, affordable and high-quality education since 1957, CCBC educates more than 70,000 students each year, including half of all Baltimore County residents attending college in Maryland as undergraduates. Committed to student success and the development of lifelong learners who strengthen our regional workforce and enrich our community, CCBC has also been selected to participate in Achieving the Dream, a national student success initiative. In 2011, the Chronicle of Education honored CCBC as one of only 26 community colleges across the nation named “Great Colleges to Work For.” 

CCBC is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, 3624 Market Street, 2nd Floor West, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (267-284-5000). The Middle States Commission on Higher Education is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation. 
CCBC. The incredible value of education.