Employee Orientation

New Hire Orientation (NHO) is mandatory for new employees starting or moving into a benefit-eligible position.

New, full-time (FT) employees are automatically scheduled for the next available orientation date after hire, and notified by mail in their offer letter. New FT employees who are unable to attend orientation (due to extenuating circumstances) must contact Human Resources to schedule an appointment to receive information and instructions for enrolling in benefits. Employees who are unable to attend the technology training should contact the campus Employee Training Center (ETC) to schedule appropriate training.

Current full-time employees who are already benefit-eligible and are transitioning to a new position should not attend New Hire Orientation. All new, benefit-eligible employees (regardless of position) should take New Hire Technology Orientation (Outlook, SharePoint, and Employee Self-Serve technology training). Employees in positions that do not require Banner training will complete technology training earlier.  All employees will be required to take Cybersecurity Training annually.

NHO Day 1, Part A and Part B
Consists of the following:
  • Part A (CCBC overview)
    • Open to both full-time AND part-time employees; only offered once a month (except in August)
    • 9:00 am — 12:00 pm
  • Part B (Benefits/Union information)
    • Open only to full-time employees; offered twice a month.
    • 1:00 pm — 4:00 pm
Part-time new hires should register for Part A. Register for these on SharePoint, through Professional Development Opportunities/Human Resources.

NHO Day 2, Part C
Consists of the following:
  • New Hire Technology Orientation - 9:00 am - 10:30 am
  • Cybersecurity Training - 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
  • Banner Orientation - 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
NHO Day 2, Part C is open to both full-time and part-time employees
Register online using your CCBC username and password. If you do not know your CCBC login credentials, call the CCBC Help Desk at 443.840.4357 and press 2. You must register for each separately.

If you need assistance with the registration process, please contact Mary DeShields, HR Training Assistant, at 443.840.5263 or mdeshields@ccbcmd.edu

NHO Day 1 — Part A
Catonsville Campus
Library — Rm 123
9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Full-time/Part-time Employees
NHO Day 1 — Part B
Catonsville Campus
Library — Rm 123
1:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Full-time Employees Only
NHO Day 2 — Part C
Essex Campus
Library — Rm 113B
9:00 am – 1:30 pm

Full-time/Part-time Employees
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 Tuesday, April 14, 2020 Wednesday, April 15, 2020
-- Tuesday, April 28, 2020 Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 Tuesday, May 5, 2020 Wednesday, May 6, 2020
-- Tuesday, May 12, 2020 Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020 Tuesday, June 2, 2020 Wednesday, June 3, 2020
-- Tuesday, June 16, 2020 Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020 Tuesday, July 7, 2020 Wednesday, July 8, 2020
-- Tuesday, July 21, 2020 Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020 Tuesday, August 4, 2020 Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020 Tuesday, August 18, 2020 Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020 Tuesday, September 1, 2020 Wednesday, September 2, 2020
-- Tuesday, September 15, 2020 Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020 Tuesday, October 6, 2020 Wednesday, October 7, 2020
-- Tuesday, October 20, 2020 Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020 Tuesday, November 3, 2020 Wednesday, November 4, 2020
-- Tuesday, November 17, 2020 Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Tuesday, December 8, 2020 Tuesday, December 8, 2020 Wednesday, December 9, 2020
-- Tuesday, December 22, 2020 Wednesday, December 23, 2020

New Hire Orientation will be canceled during any month when there will be less than three participants. Affected new employees will be notified and asked to contact HR to schedule an individual appointment to obtain benefits information and will have the option to attend the next scheduled orientation session.