Media Advisory

Feb 08, 2017 | by Hope H. Davis | 443.840.5053 (office) | 410.971.5560 (cell)

CCBC Students Convene in Annapolis and Lobby for College Affordability

WHAT:    Student Advocacy Day
CCBC joins hundreds of students from the 16 community colleges statewide in assembling in Annapolis to encourage lawmakers to keep community college affordable. Students will be advocating for budget and legislative priorities for their colleges and seek to raise awareness of the important role played by Maryland’s community colleges in higher education and workforce development.

WHO:   Several senators and delegates will address the assembled students.
Confirmed: Senators Ferguson, Young. Invited: Senators Carter-Conway, Jennings, Ready
Invited: Delegates Beidle, Lierman, Hayes, and Washington

WHEN:    Wednesday, February 8, 2017
9:00 – 10:00 a.m. - Senators and Delegates
10:00 – 10:30 a.m. - Community college presidents and selected student speaker
10:30 a.m. - Students meet with their legislators by appointment

WHERE:    Miller Senate Office Building, 11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401 - President’s Conference Room East.


About CCBC [ and 443-840-CCBC (2222)]
Since 1957, CCBC, which now educates nearly 63,000 students each year, has opened the doors to accessible, affordable, high-quality education inspiring brilliance among generations of area residents. Over the past 60 years, hundreds of thousands of students have made their starts, earned degrees, launched and advanced careers, transformed their lives, and the lives of others, through CCBC experiences. Visit for more about CCBC’s 2017 diamond anniversary.

CCBC is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, 3624 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (267-284-5000). The Middle States Commission on Higher Education is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.

CCBC. The incredible value of education.

Maryland Association of Community Colleges (MACC) is an advocate for the state’s 16 community colleges and the educational needs of the students they serve.