Skip to content

Mount St. Mary's University

Transfer to Mount St. Mary’s University

About Mount St. Mary’s University (the Mount)

Mount St. Mary's University (also known as the Mount) is a dynamic, Catholic, liberal arts university with over 2,000 undergraduate and graduate students. Established in 1808, the Mount is a private, coed, nonprofit university located in Emmitsburg, Maryland, on a beautiful 1,400-acre, mountain campus. Surrounded by a peaceful mountain campus, students are immersed in rigorous academic offerings, active and exciting social experiences, and enriching spiritual and leadership opportunities that prepare them for meaningful careers and lives bound to make an impact on the world. The Mount offers 40 majors, 38 minors and has an average student to faculty ratio of 13:1.

Mount St. Mary’s also offers a satellite campus for adult students in Frederick, Maryland’s second largest city.

Undergraduate programs include:

  • Accounting, B.S.
  • Business, B.S.
  • Criminal justice, B.A.
  • Elementary education, B.S.
  • Human services, B.S.

General transfer information

Transfer academic scholarships are available to full-time transfer students and awarded for academic achievement and leadership on an annual basis. Once a student is accepted and offered an academic scholarship, no changes will be made to increase the amount.

Mount St. Mary’s Frederick campus accepts credit for prior learning acquired outside of the classroom. The undergraduate programs can consolidate learning demonstrated through standardized tests, portfolio evaluation, ACE-evaluated training or military experience. Learn more »

Transfer partnership

Education Discount - Mount St. Mary’s Frederick Campus

Mount St. Mary's University transfer partnership benefits and eligibility requirements.
Mount St. Mary's – Frederick Campus benefits Eligibility requirement

CCBC graduates will receive a 20% reduced tuition rate for any undergraduate program held at the Frederick Campus.

CCBC graduates who complete their bachelor's degree through the Frederick Campus or online and enroll in the semester directly after completion will receive another 20% reduced tuition rate for Graduate Continuing and Professional Studies graduate programs held at the Frederick Campus.

Any associate degree

GPA of a 2.0 or better

Articulation Agreements

Emmitsburg Campus (main campus)

Articulation agreements between CCBC and MSMU.
CCBC degree MSMU degree Agreement
Mathematics, Science Area of Concentration (A.S.) Applied Mathematics (B.S.) View agreement
Behavioral Health Counseling, Area of Concentration (A.A.S) Human Services (B.S.) View agreement
Human Services Generalist, Area of Concentration (A.A.S) Human Services (B.S.) View agreement
Mount St. Mary’s will accept up to 75 credits that can be applied to degree requirements from a combination of two-year institutions, four-year institutions, and non-direct classroom instruction (including CLEP, AP, and other nationally recognized standardized examination scores). For additional information about credit transfer, please see: MSMU-Catalog.

For non-direct classroom instruction, an appropriate score is determined by Mount St. Mary’s, and the student must submit original test scores/results. Articulated High School credits will not transfer. Credit awarded for prior learning (life experience) is not recognized by or transferable to Mount St. Mary’s University.

Contact Mount St. Mary's University.